Straight Strip Sets

The first thing to piece in the finishing kit that I’ve been working on were bar strip sets. I don’t know if that is their official name, but that’s what I’m calling them.

IMG_3354

I’m really pleased by how they turned out. They are nice and straight, without any bending. Here is how I did it.

When I sewed the brown and cream strips together I made sure to turn every other strip. Here’s a picture to show what I’m talking about.

IMG_3301

I flipped the cream strip around. The printed selvage edge of the cream fabric is at the other end. This seemed to really help avoid that bend in strip sets that all quilters despise.

The other thing I did to insure straight strips involves proper pressing. Here is how I did that…

IMG_3295

I always press the seam first, commonly called “setting the seam”. Then I ran the iron along the right side of the seam. Pressing to the dark or in this case the brown fabric.

IMG_3298

I have found that running the iron along the seam like this helps avoid that small crease that sometimes happens along the seam if you’re not careful how you press. I want a nice tight seam without stretching. Then I gently pull back the fabric and press the seam.

IMG_3304

Here it is…a nice straight strip.

IMG_3303

It doesn’t take a lot of extra effort to get a straight strip set. Just a couple of things to keep in mind. Hope it helps your next project.

One thought on “Straight Strip Sets

  1. Pingback: Purposing to Perfect the 9-Patch | Stiletto Quilts

Leave a Reply

