Strawberry Season

It’s strawberry season in southeastern Ohio. This is turning out to be a great year for strawberries.

IMG_3381

This is one beautiful strawberry!

IMG_3386

It makes my hand look so small. No, that is not a child’s hand, it’s my hand and it’s a really big strawberry.

One of my favorite ways to enjoy strawberries is Strawberry Freezer Jam.

IMG_3378

Freezer jam is so easy to make. All you need is pectin, I use Sure Jell, and sugar…and strawberries, of course. I use the recipe that comes in the Sure Jell box. And I freeze the jam in jelly jars.

IMG_3387

Look at that yummy, sticky, strawberry goodness! I wish I could give you-all a spoonful!

Now they are ready for the freezer.

IMG_3393

Yes, there are several different types of rings, jars and lids. It’s eclectic, right? No, actually it is economics. Some of those lids were given to me. I’m not sure if they will seal so I’m not going to use them for canning, but for freezing they work great.

Leave a Reply

