A Useful Digit

Have you ever considered how useful our thumbs are? Probably not, unless you’ve injured your thumb to the point of rendering it useless like I did the other day.

IMG_3455

While washing my Ninja food processor I cut my thumb on the blade. You know, those very sharp blades on food processors. I even told myself as I carefully swooshed it in the hot soapy water, “Remember to be careful those blades are sharp!” I will spare you the gory details. Let’s just say I’m glad I’m not squeamish about the sight of my own blood or I would have been on the floor.

So, for the next 2 days I was reminded just how useful our thumbs are. Here is my list of everyday tasks that require your thumb.

  • texting
  • removing your contacts
  • pinning fabric
  • brushing your teeth
  • using the remote control
  • typing
  • writing

It made me stop and thank God for giving me thumbs. What useful digits they are.

Leave a Reply

